The Bad Weather Workout

My workout life has been impeded by bad weather. My goal every week is to hit the gym 5 times a week. A couple weeks, like when we had 16 inches of snow, or the temperature was -15, it was just hard to make it. Whether it was work, the roads or just my own “I wanna go home” attitude, it’s hard to get to the health club in the evening when it is dark and cold. You just want to go home and curl up on the couch.

So I met with Amanda on the 5th and we talked about how for the past 3 weeks or so, I was only getting in about 3 times. She understood that bad weather can keep one from getting there, but you have to try and do something at home then. Luckily the workout she was giving me for these two weeks would also be perfect to do at home. Basically.. it meant being on the floor.. a lot.

So here is my plan.. if I am stuck at home and can’t get there:

Cardio:

I live on the 2nd floor of a 3 floor apartment building. So working out at home means hitting the stairs. About 5-10 minutes going up and down my stairs. There are two staircases so I can walking a circle more or less.

Next.. the exercises:

60 second Flank: One the floor -I am still doing a modified flank so my knees are down and my feet are crossed at the ankles.

Modified Push ups: Still with my knees on the floor and my feet up and crossed I am doing 20 push ups.

Lunge and Twist: At the gym she has me hold a 6 lb medicine ball when I do this. Lunge, and holding the ball in both hands, arms straight . Move your arms, twisting to the same side of the leg that is out. Alternate legs, so you end up doing 20 lunges, twisting to each side 10 times.  At home, I am using one of my free weights, holding the ends in each hand.

Hip Lift: Back on the floor. Lay down, knees up. Cross one leg, knees bent so your ankle is resting on the knee. Lift your hips in the air. 10 times. Switch legs, and do it 10 more times.

Overhead Extensions: For your triceps. At the gym I am standing with a 10lb medicine ball in my hands, held over my head, and then I am bending at the elbows, so the ball goes behind my head.  20 times.  At home, I am using an 8lb free weight, held in both hands.

Pike: Back on the floor. Laying down, knees up, feet flat on the floor. This is a “crunch” except you are hold your arms straight out in front of you – like a diver.  Lift up like a crunch. 20 times.

Oblique Crunch: Still laying down but you are crossing one leg over again so your ankle on one foot rest by your knee of the other leg. Put the hand opposite that leg behind your head and do a crunch, except twisting like you are reaching that elbow toward the knee on the bent leg. Here’s a picture:

I do 20 a side.

Do it all again:

Well, now you have completed your first set of reps.  Start with the Cardio and do another 5-10 minutes of the stairs and then start the exercises again.  When you are all done with this set,  hit the stairs again one last time. Then  you will be done. If you did 10 minutes of the stairs that puts you ate a good 30 of cardio.  So three sets of cardio and two sets of the exercises and you are good to go…. to your couch and watch some TV!

Food- What’s up with that?:

This week I have been trying to try out some different food than I would normally make at home. I stumbled on some asian season packets that looked good so I picked some up to try. Most only have to mixed with 1/4 c soy sauce and water, and that packet is only 15-25 calories per serving. I have made Mongolian beef twice this week. I am using Olive oil to fry the meat instead of vegetable oil. When I picked out my soy sauce, I looked at the labels and tried to find the one that was both lowest in calories and lowest in sodium. It seemed if one was “light” then it was higher in sodium, or if it was “low sodium” then it was higher in calories. Then I found a store brand that was about midway between, but on the lower side of both, and it was the least expensive. Go Hy-Vee store! I am so using brown rice instead of rice. So I am making flavorful dinners, but making smart choices about them, and loving these meals. Tonight I am making fajitas. I don’t like many vegetables so this should be interesting. I did buy a red bell pepper to try. I don’t like green at all, so I thought I would try the red. It will be interesting to see what happens. I also bought wheat tortillas and some black beans. I think it will all be tasty!

Anyway, I feel it has been a good week for me. My little weigh ins at home have been going the right direction so when I do my official weigh in about 2.5 weeks from now, I really want that weight thingy in the right hand column to go down.. down… down..   We are going to have managers meets at work at the beginning of March and so I am using that to as a goal date to have 15 more pounds down. I am not sure I can do it, since I normally lose pretty slowly, but I am setting that goal.

What about you? How about an end of the winter goal for everyone?

Leave a Reply

