If You Try Sometimes…

You just might find, you get what you need….

Is that true? Hmm. I was thinking about this on the way home from the gym the other night. The Stones were playing on the CD Player and Mick was telling this to me:

You can’t always get what you want,

But if you try sometimes,

You might find,

You get what you need.


The key, of course, is in that one little three letter word: Try.

Keep on tryin’.

If at first you don’t succeed, try, try again.

Sometimes trying is the hardest thing.  It’s human nature to try and fail and learn from that and try again. Right? However, doesn’t that sometimes make you want to never try again. It’s hard.  Failure isn’t pretty, but is the lesson worth it? Maybe. Most likely.

I have failed, alot, and am probably the first one to admit that failure scares me.  Yet, in 6 years I have belonged to 6 different workout facilities.  A couple probably only lasted a month or so. I get bored, I get lazy. I stop going. I failed.  Those won’t be the last time I fail. I am sure there is a lifetime of failure ahead of me. Sometimes I will avoid it, and sometimes I will just keep trying.

You can’t succeed if you don’t try.

Sometimes you try and try and try, yet you still fall off the little blue half ball of evil.  You grit your teeth, you mumble a few choice four letter words, and then you step back on.  Unfortunately this exercise is supposed to be done standing on the blue half-ball of evil on only one foot.  And you so fall off again.  And again. And again. And again. Seriously, I could fill up this whole For a short time, a few years ago, I belonged to a fitness center that wasn’t a good fit for me. I tried to quit and the owner called me up and talked me into staying for another month. He said “I know it’s hard to get in here, but all you really have to do is walk in the door. That’s the hardest part.”

Okay, it’s not quite as hard as standing on only one foot on the blue half-ball of evil, but it’s close. Isn’t that what often keeps you from working out? Just walking in the door?

There are days (most days) when I can’t bear the idea of going there and trying to do 30 minutes on the elliptical. I find it so boring. And sweat inducing!  I know that if I can just walk in the door, I can play enough mind games with myself to get that 30 minutes of cardio in. I just have to walk in the door.

We have to try.

So I’ll keep on trying.

What about you?

Leave a Reply

