A Walk in the Woods

On Thursday I decided to go for a walk in the woods on my lunch break. I don’t take lunch until 3pm, even though I get off at 5:30pm. It is just a habit from when I worked 10a-7pm and I just never got out of the habit of going at that time. I can eat at my desk while I work, so it isn’t like I starve all day, until 3pm.

On Thursdays, in the summer, I tend to go to the weekly Farmer’s Market/Music in the Junction after work, so I miss a workout when I do that. I needed to figure out an alternative. Also, since my job is a seated job, I have been looking for something to get me out of my chair. My lunch hour tends to be spent doing work errands and/or sitting in front of the computer reading email/twitter/facebook. I needed to find something to break that habit.

We have a lot trails all over Des Moines and one of them, Greenbelt, goes right by my work. So I put on my New Balance shoes, and drove over to the 100th St. entrance. I ended up walking 1.5 miles. There are markers every quarter mile so it is pretty easy to keep track of how far I went, and also I brought my cell phone, and set my alarm for 20 mins, so that I would turn around at that point. I was only at about 15 mins in when I hit the 3/4 mile mark but thought I should turn around.  Also as I walked I paid attention to where the path had entrances by other parking lots so I could vary where I start at in the future. I found one place very close to work, so I would have only about 2 minutes of drive time to get there and can spend more time walking.

I talked to Amanda on Friday about this, and she really liked the idea of me adding this walk to my work out schedule a couple times a week. So that is what I am going to try and do.   Since I take a late lunch, and don’t really work by anyone, it should be okay if I am a little sweaty for that last hour and a half. However, if it is too hot or humid, I probably won’t be able to walk. Luckily though, it is really woodsy so it is a little cooler than it would be otherwise.

Anyway, I am really happy that I got off my bum and found something else to add to my routine. So what about you? Anything you can a change to your routine?

Oh and I changed the look to the blog. I wanted something a little more whimsical. When I get bored with this, I will probably change it up again. Change is the name of the game, after all!

4 responses to “A Walk in the Woods

  1. First, I love the new look. Is it okay if it say it’s pretty? Second, what the hell do you mean “I need to find something else to do on my lunch hour than email.”? Excuse me???? Hello! You have a whole group of us waiting on you to talk to us every day.

    • I think it is pretty and a little whimsical. However, about the lunch hour thing.. I am constantly checking my email at work, so I would really just be taking an hour off from checking it. And what would I be writing about.. birds!

Leave a Reply

